Linkedin.com groups

Within the past two months I have discovered the beauty of using linkedin groups. I’ve had a linkedin profile for several years. But, I must admit, it was pretty static. I filled everything out, added a profile pic and made connections. But, other than occasionally getting or making connection requests, I didn’t do much with it.

Only recently did I dive into the world of linkedin groups, and doing so was probably the best thing I’ve done with my account. The value of the groups is twofold:

  1. Reading and participating in conversations
  2. Meeting others working in areas of interest

This all seems quite logical… pedestrian even. And it is. But, the most logical and pedestrian of tips is still useful if you’re not doing it, and I wasn’t. Since joining a variety of groups, I have not only met others and had good conversations, but I’ve also secured several internship postings to promote to UNC students, all of which came from simple posts on geographically-appropriate linkedin groups. So simple, taking literally seconds of my time.

So, here’s a “shout out” to using linked in groups — A great way to expand your network, learn what people are talking about and participate in those conversations.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

